Were you recently arrested in Georgia for DUI?
Where is your Georgia driver’s license? If you have it in your possession, you may not need to appeal any license suspension or install an ignition interlock device, but you should contact an experienced DUI defense attorney.
If the officer took your license and gave you a “Temporary Driving Permit,” you should call an experienced DUI defense attorney now. Even though you have 30 days from the date of your arrest to decide what action to take to keep driving legally, there is a lot your experienced DUI defense attorney needs to gather in order to give you good advice.
Your choices are:
Do nothing. This means that in 45 days, your Georgia driver’s license will be suspended until you complete DUI School and pay a reinstatement fee. While your license is suspended, you may not drive at all. If you drive and are stopped by the police, you will be arrested and charged with Driving While License Suspended or Revoked. The required fine for this violation is $750.
Install an Ignition Interlock Device. If you choose this option, you must first contact an installer, then take the certificate to the Georgia Department of Driver Services for a special license. You must keep the IID on your car for the entire 12 months, even if you win the DUI in court. You must only drive a car equipped with an IID for the entire 12 months. If you drive a car that doesn’t have an IID installed and you are stopped by the police, you will be arrested and charged with Driving While License Suspended or Revoked. The required fine for this violation is $750.
Appeal the pending suspension. You have the right to ask for a hearing with the Office of State Administrative Hearings, but you must file this appeal no later than 30 days after your arrest. Your experienced DUI defense attorney knows how to file this appeal for you. There is a filing fee of $150 that must be sent with the appeal.
How do you know which is the best choice for you? Ask an experienced DUI defense attorney for advice.